Prayers for my friend

If you aren’t aware of the blogger over at My Hope and My Future, please take a minute to visit her blog, and start praying for her. Her name is Shelby.

She and her husband recently discovered that he has a tumor the size of an apple growing on his pelvis. They don’t know much at this point but are just praying that it is benign and easy to remove with surgery. The doctors are hoping they can get all of it without chemo. It came as a shock to them last week, as you can imagine, and they are dealing with it on top of everything else they’ve been going through over the last year — experiencing 4 heart-wrenching miscarriages with no explanation. Then this came, out of nowhere.

Please pray for them over the next few weeks as they learn more and schedule his surgery. His body needs healing first and foremost, but they also need God to supply them with incredible strength, and an impenetrable peace amidst this scary situation. Pray also for their marriage during this time, that they will remain strong in the Lord and seek Him continually in this. Shelby in particular is having a really hard time with this, this week, so please pray for her heart to not be overwhelmed.

Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours. -Mark 11:24

And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us. And if we know that he hears us in whatever we ask, we know that we have the requests that we have asked of him. -1 John 5:14-15

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” For he will deliver you from the snare of the fowler and from the deadly pestilence. He will cover you with his pinions, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness is a shield and buckler. You will not fear the terror of the night, nor the arrow that flies by day, nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday. A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you. -Psalm 91:1-7

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. -Jeremiah 29:11-13

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you. When you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. -Isaiah 43:2

But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind. -James 1:6

And I tell you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. -Luke 11:9

 

8 thoughts on “Prayers for my friend

Leave a Reply

