Sunshine Award! Yay!

A big thank you to my friend over at A Calm Persistence, who nominated my blog for a Sunshine Award! I love the sound of that — Sunshine Award — an award that goes to writers who brighten other people’s days. Sometimes I feel that I write way too heavy, or all I do is ramble, but apparently there are people who think I brighten their day… so to A Calm Persistence and any others who see my writing as uplifting — THANK YOU for the kind thoughts! 🙂

sunshine award

The writer at A Calm Persistence has been quite uplifting to me as well. She is a brave Christian woman with a big heart, and quite the fighter… someone who is not settling for second best in her life. She is such an inspiration to me and to so many others on this kind of journey. Check out her blog — you will not be disappointed. This is one of my favorite posts. She is just very real, very candid, and I love her for that.

The rules are:

  • Include the Sunshine Award icon in your post
  • Link to the blogger who nominated you
  • Answer 10 questions about yourself
  • Nominate 10 other bloggers to receive the award
  • Link to your nominees and let them know you nominated them.

So here we go:
Why do you blog?
I blog to vent. Even though the miscarriage rate is very high, I still don’t know many people in my personal life who have miscarried and who, consequently, “get it.” This is where I get my thoughts out without being judged or being subject to unsolicited commentary, advice, or “comforting” words. It’s anonymous because many acquaintances and extended family members don’t know about my pregnancy or my miscarriage.

What are you most proud of?
Honestly, I am proud of where I’m at on this journey, and the strength and faith God has been able to cultivate in me over the past 6 months. The old me would have fought Him tooth and nail on this, gotten pissed at Him, insisted on control, turned my back on Him and pouted — for months, probably. And it would have only resolved when I begrudgingly accepted that there was nothing I could do to change my lot. This year, God has done a number on me, molding me into a woman after His own heart. I can truly say that most days I am joyful, hopeful, feel His presence in a very real way, and earnestly seek Him. It’s unbelievable the affect God has on you when you’re willing to give it all to Him.

What is one thing you want to learn how to do?
Haha, change a tire! J actually showed me a couple months ago when we came back to a flat tire in the parking lot after a baseball game… but I won’t remember it. I’m sure it’s easy enough but I just know one day I’m going to be stranded, staring at my tire, and going, “what the heck was I supposed to do?!”

If you could have any super power, what would it be?
Oooh that’s a good one. Probably the ability to time travel. I’d love to be able to go back to the early 20th century, the American Revolution era, and all the way back to the first century. Maybe I’m a dork but that would be too cool.

What is your best piece of advice?
Articulate to yourself what it is you want, what it is you are truly searching for. Then take steps toward that. Baby steps, so you don’t get overwhelmed and quit. But move forward rather than settling for being paralyzed with fear, laziness, complacency, or indifference. Doing something is crucial. As another blogger put it, “Trust God, and do the next thing.”

If you had a million dollars, what would you do with it?
I would keep probably half for my family, building a nest egg for my kids and okay I’ll admit, buying a new car and a vacation home. The other half I would split among charities or ministries whose missions align with my life’s passions: Those advocating the right to life and saving unborn babies, those reaching people for Jesus around the globe where the Bible is scarce or banned, those saving women and children from sex trafficking, and probably now some to research for those struggling with infertility and pregnancy loss.

What is your favorite season? Why?
FALL. The bright red and yellow leaves, the cool sweatshirt weather, glorious college football, chili with a huge spoonful of sour cream on top, the holidays around the corner… I could go on and on. LOVE fall.

What is your all time favorite meal?
All time? Dang that’s hard. Probably my mom’s fried chicken, fried okra, biscuits, and mashed potatoes and gravy. Can you tell I’m Southern?

What is your favorite song?
So many. I love anything Colbie Caillat. Blessings by Laura Story has really spoken to me lately.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live?
I’d love to travel outside the U.S. but don’t feel I could ever live abroad permanently. I’d probably choose to live in Charleston, SC, or Nashville, TN. I live in the South, but the city I live in isn’t my favorite, even though it’s close to my family.

And the blogs I nominate for the Sunshine Award are:
1. Amanda’s Blog
2. My Silver Lining
3. My Hope and My Future
4. Womb Warrior
5. My MMC Story
6. Abnormally Normal
7. My Journey Through This Amazing Life
8. Finally Pregnant 2012
9. My Story
10. Waiting to Expand

Nominees, here are your questions! Take it away!
1. What is the one biggest lesson you’ve learned this year?
2. What is something you hope to become better at?
3. What is your favorite holiday?
4. Who is/was your celebrity crush?
5. What is the weirdest habit you have or thing you repeatedly do?
6. Would you prank call someone and if so, what would you say?
7. What is your 4-letter personality type?
8. What is something you say a lot?
9. What college and/or professional sports teams do you root for?
10. Why do you blog, and do you think you’ll keep blogging for a while?

6 thoughts on “Sunshine Award! Yay!

  1. Awww thank you for your kind words! You made my day 🙂 I wrote that post in tears and I wasn’t even sure I was going to publish it. I’m so glad you like it!

    ” It’s unbelievable the affect God has on you when you’re willing to give it all to Him.” This is such a powerful quote. I couldn’t agree more. In fact, that’s the only reason I’m still standing.

    I loved your advice too! And I absolutely love fall as well! Thank you so much for participating. I know that it’s a bit time consuming, but I really love reading your blog. Sometimes, it’s just nice to know we are not alone. 🙂

  2. Wow! I am so honored that you nominated me! I love your blog as well and gain so much encouragement from reading other’s who’ve experienced some of the same things as I have. Thank you for being open and so kind.

  3. Also, quick question, am I suppose to answer the questions at the bottom and then make ten new ones for the people I nominate? Or answer the ones you answered and pass along the other 10?

Leave a Reply

