My Current Therapies

  • Power Washers and Blowers. Just give me a tool that can blast something into oblivion and I’m good to go. Getting the grime and gunk off of something is great therapy, especially when there’s a motor behind it.
  • Yoga. It’s harder than it looks, and so worth it. I can literally stretch and breathe the tension right out of my body, which is probably just what I need right now. And the 7 minutes of relaxation at the end is heaven.
  • Music. Not just any music. Throwback early- to mid-’90s music from middle school — you know, Smashing Pumpkins, Oasis, Bush, The Offspring… back when radio music didn’t make you want to kill yourself. Also Colbie Caillat, Sara Bareilles, old Sara Evans, Tegan & Sara (yes lots of Sara’s), and even Justin Timberlake and old Destiny’s Child. Fun music, music I can sing soulfully to without feeling like I’m always an octave lower than the singer is (thank you Colbie), and music from Grey’s Anatomy (am I right, Grey’s fans?). And Ice, Ice Baby. Because it never gets old. Stop. Collaborate and listen.
  • Candy crunch. It’s actually called “Candy Crush” but I like the way ‘crunch’ sounds instead. I’m not one to get into phone games but my friend told me to try it months ago and ever since, I’ve been hooked.
  • My darling dog. I have a 2 year old chihuahua-weenie dog mix and she is my little snuggle bunny. And she books it up and down the hallway at what seems like 50 miles per hour. Okay okay she’s probably not that fast, but she really does run like a cheetah and bounce like a deer. And she hides behind the door or under the bed and makes you look for her. It’s hilarious, entertaining, and precious.
  • The Big Bang Theory, Arrested Development, Parks and Recreation, or Friends. And Grey’s Anatomy and Desperate Housewives.
    Man, I miss that show. This scene reminds me of all those great half-drunken gab fests with my girlfriends in college.
  • A good IPA and an SEC football game. Something like Terrapin’s Hopsecutioner or Sierra Nevada’s Torpedo Extra IPA. Watching my team (currently ranked #11 in the country after a close loss to another top 10 team last week — we were #5) and yelling at the TV. There. is. NOTHING. better. This is why fall is my favorite time of year.
  • House projects. We bought a house a year and a half ago and it needs some work. There’s still much more to be done, and it’s a great distraction. Not to mention really rewarding. This weekend, we tiled the floor of our guest bathroom that had (brace yourself) carpet in it. Can I just say, EW.
  • And last but definitely not least, this blog. If I tend to be a little long-winded it’s because this is really my only verbal outlet. I’ve stopped discussing my miscarriage woes and ttc struggles to the people in my life because they either a) don’t get it and inadvertently say something insensitive and hurtful, b) already know the whole story and I don’t want to overload them by whining all the time, c) some combination of the two, or d) don’t know at all and it’s this whole off-putting scenario of me bringing up the fact that I miscarried this year only to sense that they are now uncomfortable in the conversation and really can’t believe I just told them that (how dare I bring up something so awkward?).
  • Oh yeah, one more. Reading other ttc after a loss blogs. It makes me feel like I’m not crazy or a horrible person for some of the irrational, ugly thoughts I have throughout the day.
Leave a Reply

