Father’s Day

Father's Day 2013I gave J a Father’s Day card yesterday. Well, it was an anniversary card that I marked through and put “father’s day” on. He laughed, but I told him they don’t make “Happy Father’s Day to someone who’s not technically a dad but really is” cards. (They really should do that, and for Mother’s Day too, for what it’s worth.)

The card had some gooey stuff in it, but it also had this:

Maybe it hasn’t always been easy,
but as we celebrate today,
I want you to know
our marriage makes me
very happy,
and I love you now
more than ever.

I underlined “today” and wrote:

J,

You are such an amazing husband. You took care of me and gave me grace when I needed it the most. You were so supportive when I was pregnant and gave your best to our child. You are going to be such a great father someday. (You already are.) I already think of you as one. Until that day comes, we already have the perfect family.

I love you,
S

I left the card on his dresser in the middle of the day. He wasn’t expecting it. After reading it he came downstairs, found me, and hugged me pretty tight. I could tell it meant a lot to him.

He’s going to be such an amazing dad. And hopefully soon.

Leave a Reply

